Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Southwest Announces Initial California Gateway Cities and Eventual Interisland Service


As you may recall, last week Southwest announced our initial four airports in the Hawaiian Islands: Daniel K. Inouye International Airport in Honolulu (HNL), Kahului Airport on Maui (OGG), Lihue Airport on Kauai (LIH), and Ellison Onizuka International Airport on the leeward side of The Island of Hawaii (KOA). Today, we have more news about Southwest’s intended service plans for Hawaii. 


The initial gateway cities that will offer nonstop service (pending required regulatory approvals) to Hawaii are: 


  • Mineta San Jose International Airport (SJC)
  • Oakland Metropolitan Airport (OAK)
  • Sacramento International Airport (SMF)
  • San Diego International Airport (SAN)


While we aren’t yet ready to share specific nonstop routes or other flight details, please know those details will be reflected in the flight schedule that would publish following our ETOPS authorization from the FAA to operate Hawaii service. 


Southwest President Tom Nealon made these announcements this morning at a community meeting with Hawaiian tourism, civic, and government leaders. He shared Southwest’s eventual interisland flights would come following the initial ramp-up of operations across the state’s four principal airports.


“Our plan for Hawaii requires us to share these initial details now so that our facilities in the airports will be ready for all that we intend to offer,” Nealon told a gathering at the Hilton Hawaiian Village in Waikiki. 


May 3rd Announcement_SWALife_780x480 copy.png