Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

$50 Early Bird & Got B1?

buddro
Explorer C

Is this normal? I feel like I just got suckered out of $50. This is my first time flying with SouthWest and noticed they don't have assigned seating, so it seemed like paying the extra would allow me to grab a decent seat. 

12 REPLIES 12

Re: $50 Early Bird & Got B1?

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

Seems totally normal.  EarlyBird does not guarantee an A position, only guarantees you get checked in before other non A-List flyers.  B1 is a pretty good position and I would be totally fine with it had I purchased EBCI.

--TheMiddleSeat

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

I'm curious, what were you expecting?

--TheMiddleSeat

buddro
Explorer C

somewhere before 60 other people?

bwallet
Frequent Flyer A

@buddro B1 will get you a choice of a window or an aisle, and you will be able to get two seats together.

How far in advance of the flight did you buy EBCI?

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

A1-15 is blocked off for Business Select so you're down to 45 available spots. Depending on the route A-List flyers could take up all of the remaining A spots. You also have anyone flying as a companion to an A-List traveler and anyone else who purchased EBCI before you. Like I said before, B1 is pretty good and you'll have no problem with having plenty of seats to choose from. 

Have a good flight

--TheMiddleSeat

rich1954
Adventurer A

For $50 you probably could have upgraded at the airport and got A1-15. I've never been not able to.

dfwskier
Aviator A

I'll use different words to further explain something that was discussed earlier in the thread.

Early bird boarding positions are assigned based on when EB was bought. So an EB that was bought a month ago will yield a boarding position than one that was bought two weeks ago.

EB boarding positions are assigned 36 hours before flight time. So an EB that was bought at 27 hour before flight time isn't worth a whole lot.