Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Boarding position changed after paid upgrade

garcianc
Explorer B

I have been flying SW almost exclusively for over 15 years. A few years ago, in a cross-country trip, I decided to pay for an upgrade at the gate in order to get a seat in the exit row. I am very tall and my knees cannot handle long flights very well.

Big mistake!

Ever since I did that, I now routinely get assigned boarding positions near the end of the line. I even took a picture of a boarding pass once that assigned me position C62 (by the way, the numbers at the gate only go up to C60).

Out of principle, I refuse to pay for another upgrade.

What I do now is take the very first seat I find, knees be darned. This usually results in a bad flying experience for me and the two other poor souls sitting next to me. I have learned to assume the "eject" position in the middle seat in order to fit.

My wife sometimes travels with me and, when I book her ticket through my profile, we both get equally crappy assignments. When she uses her own profile, she has gotten better position than me. She is a few years older than me (she is over 65), so I am wondering if the algorithm takes that into account. We both just recently flew another carrier from Paris and were impressed, so I plan on using them for cross-country trips and only using SW for short trips.

Anyway, has anyone experienced changes after paying for an upgrade? Just curious.

25 REPLIES 25

Re: Boarding position changed after paid upgrade

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@garcianc wrote:

I have been flying SW almost exclusively for over 15 years. A few years ago, in a cross-country trip, I decided to pay for an upgrade at the gate in order to get a seat in the exit row. I am very tall and my knees cannot handle long flights very well.

Big mistake!