Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Re: Boarding position changed after paid upgrade

chgoflyer
Aviator A

@garcianc wrote:

@chgoflyer wrote:

This, hopefully you understand by now, is not true.

I wouldn't go that far. I have no knowledge of SW boarding position assignment algorithm. Do you? I am not sure what your relationship is with SW, so maybe you do.

We know that the Early Bird Check-in process boarding position is based on an algorithm known only to Southwest. Why would SW stop there?

This is wrong.

EarlyBird Check-In positions are assigned in the order of purchase (with Anytime ahead of Wanna Get Away).

Southwest publishes this info. We've had years to verify that it's true in practice. This is how it's done. This is a fact.

Simply choosing to not understand the system (or lacking the capability to do so) doesn't change how the system, in fact, works.

😉

https://www.southwest.com/html/generated/help/faqs/earlybird_checkin_faq.html

Is there an order in which EarlyBird Check-In Boarding Passes are reserved?

Yes. Customers who have purchased Anytime Fares will receive priority over Customer’s who purchase Early Bird with other fare types. Boarding positions are assigned based on the time stamp of the EarlyBird Check-In purchase relative to passengers within the same fare class.

garcianc
Explorer B

I stand corrected on the Early Bird upgrade. It had been a while since I read SW boarding policies and I believe I might have confused it with the A-list assignment policy.

Thanks for the clarification.

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@garcianc wrote:

I stand corrected on the Early Bird upgrade. It had been a while since I read SW boarding policies and I believe I might have confused it with the A-list assignment policy.

Thanks for the clarification.

A-list and A-list preferred are nebulous within their groups, but would always be bracketed by BS in the early range and EBCI coming after them.