Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Nervous mom- Family Boarding?

EUGBUR
Explorer A

I am flying EUG to BUR and back with my 5 year old and 7 year old by myself. This is my first time using Southwest and I'm incredibly nervous. I know we qualify for Family Boarding between A and B but I have no frame of reference for this. What are our chances of getting to sit together? We don't care at all what row, just together. I'm so nervous we'll be split up. I called customer service and they were useless. I was going to get Early Bird but all the articles said not to bother because it'd likely be a B or C boarding. Can someone please share some advice or reassurance?

14 REPLIES 14

Re: Nervous mom- Family Boarding?

floridaguy
Aviator C

Southwest offers Family Boarding, which occurs after the “A” group has boarded and before the “B” group begins boarding.

• Up to two adults traveling with a child six years old or younger may board during Family Boarding.
  • If the child and adults are all holding “A” boarding passes, they should board in their assigned boarding position rather than waiting for Family Boarding

tappingmom1
Frequent Flyer B

Just adding my two cents to put your mind at ease...

Finding an empty row of three seats is extremely likely during Family Boarding.  Be sure to be in the right place (just ask at the counter), and ready to board, after the entire A group boards.  In my opinion, and as you already know, you would be wasting your money on Early Bird.

Have a fun trip in Southern California!

EUGBUR
Explorer A

Thank you very much!! 

EUGBUR
Explorer A

Thank you for deleting your first cruel, thoughtless, and incorrect comment but my question wasn't about the policy. Best of luck finding happiness in life so you don't harass concerned mothers on an airline message board.

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

@EUGBUR wrote: