Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Re: Newbie Early Bird Check-In Questions

Gabie1966
Explorer C

Thanks so much for this perspective.  I'm trying EBCI for the first time because I want to make sure my husband and I get to sit together on our upcoming trip.  On our last flight, I forgot to check in at the 24-hour mark and we were far enough back in the check in where we each had to have center seats several rows from each other.  For me, it is a fail safe.

JPFotoz
Explorer C

@Cattran06wrote:

....I got the same boarding position as when I didn't pay the fee. When I

paid the fee, I was number 49....

@Cattran06 there's absolutely no way you can know what you would have gotten without paying vs paying the fee. Unless you have a time machine and go back and never pay the fee. #SMH

live2dive45
Explorer C

I am new to flying Southwest.  I have purchased a ticket with my partner and we are in the same PNR.  We also purchased Early-bird.  Do we have to check in separately or is it done simultaneously?

tpb11
Explorer C

The cattle call makes the whole experience frustrating, that's why I choose to go with other airlines every chance possible even if it's a little more expensive.  I had a better number than my child and the person at the gate wouldn't let my 9 year old go with me, she said my options were to get on alone and he could wait alone and get on when his number came up or I could stay back and get on with him and the rest of the C's and risk not being able to sit together.  The truth is they don't care if you're frustrated.  

hgmckinney
Explorer A