Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Paying For Early-Bird Check-In / Priority Upgrade on a SEPARATE Credit Card?

MG718
Explorer C

Hello,

I am not a frequent flyer, but my new job has recently required me to start traveling a several times a year. One caveat, however, is that experience has taught me that I need a window seat, otherwise I get extremely motion sick. If I have a window, and I can see where we're going, I'm absolutely fine.  I don't feel comfortable asking for preboarding priveledges for motion sickness. I feel like this is a moral gray area-- even if a window is an honest and legitimate need for me, I am not disabled. I am intrigued by the possibility of using Early Bird Check In, or possibly upgrading to preboard on the same day if my  boarding position is still particularly bleak. I have never used these features before.

My employer uses an interactive system that allows us to book travel. This is great because it gives us relative freedom in terms of the available airlines for specific routes (within a restricted dollar amount, which I assume is determined by taking the cheapest flight and allowing a certain percentage deviation). The tickets are booked using a corporate credit card-- not my credit card. Policy is that we are not allowed to upgrade our seats-- so I'd need to pay for any upgrades or add-ons myself. Here is my question:

If my employer uses THEIR credit card to buy my tickets, can I use a separate credit card (my personal card) to buy Early-Bird Check In or purchase the same-day priority boarding upgrade? Or are these fees autonatically tacked onto the same exact card that the flight was booked on? I don't want to cause a big stink at work if my upgrade/add-on fees hit their card.

I understand that Southwest's seating policy is a always gamble, and the EBCI does not guarantee me a window seat. But it might increase my odds enough to make me comfortable booking the flights.