Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Re: Pre-boarding remains out of control

rmartin
Explorer C

You can disagree all you want.  The other poster is correct.  First, airlines cannot require someone to identify themselves as having a disability in advance of the flight

§ 382.25 - May a carrier require a passenger with a disability to provide advance notice that he or she is traveling on a flight?

As a carrier, you must not require a passenger with a disability to provide advance notice of the fact that he or she is traveling on a flight.

Then:

§ 382.11(a)(4)You must not take any adverse action against an individual...

I'm not a lawyer but forcing people with disabilities to pay more so that they can preboard seems like an adverse action to me. For example, you show up, identify yourself as having a qualifying disability and need to preboard.  If they airline then says "oh, you'll need to pay more to in order for us to comply with this rule", that would definitely seem like the airline is taking an adverse action.

Then there's this section that says you cannot impose special charges in case the previous part wasn't clear enough.

§ 382.31 - May carriers impose special charges on passengers with a disability for providing services and accommodations required by this rule?

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this part you must not, as a carrier, impose charges for providing facilities, equipment, or services that this rule requires to be provided to passengers with a disability. You may charge for services that this part does not require.

And there's also

§ 382.83(c) If you do not provide advance seat assignments to passengers, you must allow passengers specified in § 382.81 to board the aircraft before other passengers, including other “preboarded” passengers, so that the passengers needing seating accommodations can select seats that best meet their needs.