Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Re: PreBoarders

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

T

@traveling_man wrote:

I also have become extremely frustrated with the increasing number of preboards on my SWA flights. This week the gate agent allowed 5 people to pre-board with the one person sitting in a wheel chair. There were an additional 7 wheel chairs lined up to board on the flight from LAX to PHX. There were 2 couples that appeared to be in great shape that strolled on after preboarding. This was just one flight and I am seeing it over and over. A few weeks ago I was changing planes in Chicago on my way from GRR to PHX. 6 young men in their 20's preboarded and plopped down in the exit rows. The flight attendants did nothing to enforce the rule regarding where preboards can sit. I have been flying SWA at least one round trip a week for the last 21 years and I have never seen this level of disgust by the regular business travelers that support your airline year round. There are many regular travelers that are looking at other options. I put up with it because I love having my companion pass for my wife to travel with me but many of us are no longer feeling the LUV. 

Those guys may not have been pre-boarders, they were more likely to be connecting passengers that got off the flight and then re-boarded. Did you see them scan their tickets? My experience has been that pre-boarders are enforced not to take exit rows, I don't think I've seen it a single time in hundreds of flighs.

Connecting through passengers however snatch those seats up!

Home airport MDW, frequent visitor to MCO to see the mouse.

rtbarron
Frequent Flyer A

@DancingDavidE wrote:

Those guys may not havllbeen pre-boarders, they were more likely to be connecting passengers that got off the flight and then re-boarded. Did you see them scan their tickets? My experience has been that pre-boarders are enforced not to take exit rows, I don't think I've seen it a single time in hundreds of flighs.