Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

First time flying with diabetes

Jeanie
Explorer C

Hi, everyone. I've flown Southwest several times in the last ten-plus years, but this is my first time flying with insulin-dependent diabetes, and I could really use your advice.

I'm flying with insulin pens, pen needles, a glucometer and strips, and a CPAP machine, as well as all the accoutrements of today's traveler. Obviously I don't (or can't) travel light.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

8 REPLIES 8

Re: First time flying with diabetes

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

What advice/information are you looking for? Definitely carry-on anything you need daily. Checked bags can get lost or flights get delayed and you can't access checked baggage so always keep vital things with you. 

--TheMiddleSeat

Jeanie
Explorer C

I'm just looking for tips and tricks from my fellow pancreas-challenged travelers.

dfwskier
Aviator A

@Jeanie wrote:

I'm just looking for tips and tricks from my fellow pancreas-challenged travelers.

Stay away from the carb filled snacks.

tappingmom1
Frequent Flyer B

Be aware that you can pack all of your medical supplies in a separate carry-on bag and it won't count as your 1 personal item and 1 carry-on.  In other words, you are allowed a third carry-on of medical devices/supplies.

Delays and cancellations seem to be the unfortunate norm these days.  Be sure to bring a few emergency low carb snacks to keep your blood sugar steady since most snacks served on the plane are high carb.  Nuts are a great choice.  Also bring a high carb snack or honey sticks to counter an insulin high.  Pack your glucagon injector (and know how to use it) to treat an emergency low.  And if you're flying through different time zones, taper your eating/insulin schedule so it isn't altered too much.