Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Medical Emergency Outstanding Flight crew

Jgarcia0916
Explorer C

AUS to ABQ flight 2135  11/26/22

The boarding for this flight had just finished, door still open, when a FA announced “are there any medical personnel on board.”  I am a general surgeon in Austin, also on board were an ICU nurse, 2 nurse practitioners, and an ER physician. A man in the last row, had slumped over, not breathing and pulseless.  With  the assistance of a FA, we placed him on he deck, and started CPR. The FAs were instrumental in getting us the AED. Oxygen, and medical kit which included a bag valve mask, IV equipment etc., and moving passengers to give us room to work. We continued until EMS arrived, AED had delivered a number of “shocks” at the preset intervals determined by the AED.  After about 15 minutes EMS arrived, and return of heartbeat and circulation was achieved. The patient was transported to the hospital, where a team was able to perform a cardiac cath. He had a 100% acute occlusion of the main artery to The left ventricle which was successfully opened and stented. He survived, neurologically intact and returned to ABQ on the same flight 12/22.  kudos to the entire multitude of EMS, ER/cardiology/

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Medical Emergency Outstanding Flight crew

floridaguy
Aviator C

Awesome story!  

Jgarcia0916
Explorer C

Post cut off early

this was posted to acknowledge the flight crew who need recognition 

The flight crew all acted very professionally in a high stress situation.  Since I live in Austin and practice with Austin Regional Clinic at South Austin hospital I was able to follow along during his hospitalization, and get to know the patient wife and family. (I flew to ABQ Saturday and came back the next day-I have a long-standing SWA LUV story of my own)