Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Companion Pass Designation Change - how long to process?

Shawn555
Explorer C

I noticed in the terms and conditions that it takes up to 21 days to process and issue a new companion pass card (not sure what purpose this card really serves), but how long does it take to actually change your designation after you call and request the change? I only have one week after my current companion flys with me until my new companion needs to fly with me.

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Companion Pass Designation Change - how long to process?

elijahbrantley
Aviator A

Interesting question. I have never had to change my Companion, so I have no real-world experience.  If I had to guess, I would make the assumption that the change goes through quickly but that it takes a few days to get the card.  Like you said, the card is just nice to have, but it isn’t really useful at this time; it will be interesting to see how it might become more handy in the future if Southwest does change the boarding procedures for Companions.

I wonder if they might be able to give you more concrete info when you call to change it?  Keep in mind that all Companion reservations will need to be cancelled before your Companion can be changed.

Perhaps there are other Community members who have experience with this.  Also, if you find out the actual turn around time, please provide an update!

-A List, Companion Pass holder

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@Shawn555 wrote:

I noticed in the terms and conditions that it takes up to 21 days to process and issue a new companion pass card (not sure what purpose this card really serves), but how long does it take to actually change your designation after you call and request the change? I only have one week after my current companion flys with me until my new companion needs to fly with me.