Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Companion booking my flight and then using companion pass?

cschuller
Explorer C

I am working towards a companion pass and should have it the beginning of April.  Four of us plan on booking a trip and I'd like to start securing the booking.  I have enough points now to book all 4 of us, but wondering if it's better to just book 3 for now and hope that the extra spot is available when we get ht CP or do I book 4 and cancel one and apply the companion pass when that time comes?  Just wondered what would be the better way of doing it?

Also, I've read that it's better to book one way tickets in the event we want to change a time/date.  Any advise as to that?

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Companion booking my flight and then using companion pass?

KimVanderKley
Frequent Flyer C

@cschuller

Hi -- I am not an expert.. however I always book one way tickets... more flexibility -- downside more confirms to manange -- the trade off has been worth it for me ...  As for your first issue - I would book all tickets with $$ or Points to "hold" the seat on the flight -- however this does not gauantee that seat can be switched to the 'pass' seat if the flight load is tight...this can be tricky and may not workout but IT has a chance ( I have done it)  The C-passes are such a great perk -- I have been able to bless so many travelers who could not have gone and this way they do not feel it is a hand -out.  Great travels ....you are on the right path....

@16fseataFFBK

bec102896
Aviator A

Hello

i would recommend booking all of your tickets now and book the person you will make the companion on a separate reservation as it will make it easier later when it comes time to cancel the paid ticket and change to a companion ticket.