Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Planned a 2-flight mileage run for A-list qualifying this week but now there are no flights to book

Geefer1210
Explorer A

Hi everyone, I’m new to the SWA community and looking for some seasoned help. I am short of A-list qualified for next year by 2 flights or 7,237 points. 
I planned to book a mileage run this week to get my 2 flights in but since SWA has made all flights unavailable through the end of the year I’m stuck. 

Does anyone know if SWA would credit me the final 2 flights I need since there are no flights available to book? Is there any precedent of this happening in years past? 
OR any other strategies I can adopt to lock in my a-list status for next year? 

TIA for your help! 

25 REPLIES 25

Re: Planned a 2-flight mileage run for A-list qualifying this week but now there are no flights to b

dfwskier
Aviator A

I'm sure you are not alone.

Southwest has allowed "amnesty" occasionally in the past, but you really can't count on it happening.

Since people cancel/change flights all the time, I'd suggest keeping a low fare calendar window open and refresh it periodically in case a flight does open up.

I am not aware of any other options. Sorry.

Re: Planned a 2-flight mileage run for A-list qualifying this week but now there are no flights to b

Geefer1210
Explorer A

Thanks @dfwskier. unfortunately SWA pulled all flights offline so you can’t book anything through the end of the year right now. I actually spent an hour on the phone trying to get through to confirm what was happening and the agent I spoke with affirmed that they are not flying/booking at all this week because of the weather mess. That sounds insane to me but I’m no expert so I have no reason to think this SWA agent was making this up. If you open the low fare calendar or try to book anything for this week all flights from/to every city I tried show unavailable through the end of the year. 

thanks again @dfwskier 

Geefer1210