Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Upgrade to business class

richkendziorski
Explorer C

Hi! I'm new to Rapid Rewards and searched the discussions, but can't find the answer to this:

May I use my Rapid Rewards points to purchase an upgrade to business class at the gate/upon arrival for my trip?

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9

Re: Upgrade to business class

franktravel
Aviator B
Solution

No. Points can only be used to redeem for flights. If you are a Southwest Airlines Rapid Rewards Credit Cardmember, you can redeem your Rapid Rewards points for items other than Southwest flights through More Rewards.

BullsFan
Adventurer A

I think that the only way to get business select is with cash or travel funds, not points- is that what you mean?

richkendziorski
Explorer C

Yes, thanks!

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

I wanted to clarify @richkendziorski - If you haven't flown yet - the upgrade to "Business Select" gives you upgraded boarding position and a beverage on that flight. It also gives you 12x points instead of 10x (anytime) or 6x (wanna get away) and is refundable.

Earning points obviously only apply when you paid for a fare instead of redeeming points for that fare.

It isn't the same as "Business Class" on other airlines where the seats are different or other amenities. Southwest is a single class of service on every flight.

At times when I need a Business Select fare because that is all that is available - usually due to last minute schedule changes - I would always purchase it and earn the 12x points instead of redeeming my points for that price of fare.

Home airport MDW, frequent visitor to MCO to see the mouse.

Brittanyj
Explorer C

If I upgrade my ticket to business class what refund policy will you honor in the event my trip is canceled?

LindseyD
Retired Community Manager

Hi Brittanyj,

Can you offer some clarification? What kind of ticket are you holding right now - an Anytime fare or a Wanna Get Away fare?

Brittanyj
Explorer C