Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

What are tier-qualifying points?

RicoSuave98
Explorer C

I'm new to Rapid Rewards and I don't understand the term "tier qualifying points".  It's used 9 times in the Terms and Conditions, but it is never defined. 

At one point it says: "Tier qualifying points are earned through the purchase of revenue flights or through the use of" certain Rapid Rewards credit cards.  Later it says: "Tier qualifying points are not redeemable for travel on Southwest  or through the "More Rewards" site."

Are all points "earned through the purchase of revenue flights" tier qualifying points?  If so, doesn't that mean I can never use my Rapid Rewards points for travel on Southwest, because "tier qualifying points are not redeemable for travel on Southwest"?  Or does it mean tier qualifying points that are used to qualify for various tier statuses (A-List, A-List Preferred, etc.) are not redeemable for travel on Southwest?

1 REPLY 1

Re: What are tier-qualifying points?

chgoflyer
Aviator A
Solution

Rapid Rewards points come in three "types," and a single point may be multiple types at the same time. There are effectively multiple "meters" in your account, and a point may actually register in multiple meters.

1) "Regular" points are points you can spend towards flights on Southwest, or for merchandise or travel on More Rewards if you have a Chase Rapid Rewards credit card. These points accrue as you earn them, and are deducted from your account when you spend them. This is the main "meter," which is the total of your points minus any you spend. You can earn these any number of ways -- flying, credit card spend, partner spending, surveys, Rapid Rewards dining, shopping, etc.