Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Flight Cancellations and Rescheduling

RHallmark
Explorer C

Has anyone else noticed an increase in the number of flights that Southwest cancels causing a reschedule?  I have been flying Southwest since 2001 and have been A-List Preferred for several years.  Beginning in November 2019 I noticed a dramatic increase in the number of flights that were cancelled triggering a booking change.  In one period I had 5 out of 6 round trip flights rescheduled due to cancelled flights.  It has reached the point of feeling like a bait and switch operation since it is usually too late or too expensive to rebook with another airline when they cancel the flight.  I also fly with other airlines although not as frequent and have not had that problem with them.  I hate to give up the companion pass but have decided to use another airline for my travel needs due to frequently having to change business/vacation plans.

22 REPLIES 22

Re: Flight Cancellations and Rescheduling

bec102896
Aviator A

So back in 2019 a lot of the schedule changes were due to the MAX8 being grounded and of course once covid started it all got worse because no airline wants to fly empty planes so the schedules were adjusted based on demand. I had flights with several other airlines and they had just as many changes/cancellations. 

Remember if the airline makes a change to your flight you can make 1 free change to your reservation to fly the same city pairs within 14 days. If no flight option works for you then you can ask for a refund to your original form of payment. 

You can also share your feedback about all these flight changes with southwest directly Contact Customer Relations this way they can document your concerns and if any flight caused a significant delay you could request compensation. 

-Blake

slalomskier
Explorer C