Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Rental car prices

rich1954
Adventurer A

I realize this post has nothing to do with SW but needed a place to vent. Anyway what's the deal with the rental car prices being so high. I have a vacation scheduled for late February in Orlando and I have never seen prices this high. In the past if I was diligent about checking prices every day on the SW site I would come across a fair deal sooner or later. This year I am paying twice what I paid last year for same times and location. I have been checking prices now for over 6 months.

22 REPLIES 22

Re: Rental car prices

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

Many of the rental agencies really slimmed down their fleet because of the pandemic and Hertz almost went belly up so they are doing everything possible to make a buck.  It's just supply and demand,... with less inventory the agencies are able to charge more to the demand they have.  As much as I like Southwest, I personally wouldn't ever rent a car through their links unless I was desperate to earn points at the end of the year for Companion Pass.  You will usually find better deals renting directly through the rental agency, especially if you have a membership in a group such as AAA or AARP.

--TheMiddleSeat

rich1954
Adventurer A

My last rental was June of 2020 from Alamo in LAX and they had low inventory. I ended up with a premium car for a full size price.

I know also that a lot of the companies have merged and there is not the competition there once was.

DancingDavidE
Aviator A

@TheMiddleSeat wrote: