Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Lugage MIA

Richnanners
Explorer C

First of all, I am getting really frustrated with no answers regarding my luggage that went missing on a flight from "Nashville, TN to Las Vegas, NV" non stop on Flight 1789. My wife's luggage made it. It's been 5 days since the luggage went M.I.A.. Calling the support center I get "We haven't located it". Huh? How is it that I can travel to China with over 1 billion people & Southwest can't find my bag?

Too make matters worse I am a combat veteran of the first "Gulf WaR" which had a few items that were precious to me. Don't mention the different shoes that my wife placed in my luggage. That's another story for another day.

I just wish that someone would actually step up & give me a real answer. Instead of, the daily call around 1130 am & state "That we can't locate it". I could do that too. Just pay me to answer that question. This is frustrating & I am speacheless also.

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Lugage MIA

rtbarron
Frequent Flyer A

Your frustration is understandable, as is your concern for you personal momentos. By the way, thank you for your service. I'm the son of a combat veteran (Viet Nam) and can appreciate what you have done for the rest of us.

An unfortunate reality of airline travel is that bags sometimes get lost and they are not always easy to find. Bags are lost for many different reasons (loaded on the wrong aircraft, destination tag torn off, fell off a belt within the bag delivery system, etc.). And, given that many bags look similar, once a bag is reported lost, it's not always easy to distinguish it from all the other lost bags at the airport where it ended up. Long story, short, the representatives at Southwest are giving you a "real answer." They honestly don't know where your bag is...yet.