Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Application Process

mgrant120
Explorer C

I'm sure this is one of the most asked questions and although I've looked through other post regarding this subject I keep getting the same post.

By  joining SouthWest's Talent Community  I'm under the impression I will get a alert when they start excepting applications.  In joinging it asked me for my current employer which I do not have. my concern is, will this keep me from being a potential canidate from the get go?  I have put together what I think to be the best resume giving my background which certainly covers customer service, disgruntle employees, etc.  My concerns is my past 10 years of employment and how being unemployeed is viewed?  Through 2012/2013 I had been employeed with same company for 8 years but for the past 5 years I have dealt with circumstances beyond my control of which I have just resolved.  I've been volunteering since 2013 which I added to my resume.

I'm just worried, concerned of how being unemployeed could affect my chances of getting a interview.  I will add that I have Letters of Recomendation from former employers that reflect the type employee I am, hoping that helps.

If anyone could please let me know I would be forever greatful.  Another question, although they are not hiring do they ever pull resumes as a "as needed" basis?

Thanks!

Mel

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Application Process

rtbarron
Frequent Flyer A
Solution

Hi Mel.

Depending on the position you're applying for, being unemployed probably will not effect your chances of getting an interview at Southwest. Obviously many positions at the corporate office require having current work experience by their nature, but most airport positions (Customer Service Agent, Ramp Agent, Operations Agent, etc.) do not. I was unemployed for a period and was contacted for several positions at Southwest.