Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Former employee wanting to rejoin

Sgambrel
Explorer C

Hello!

Im a former employee who needed to quit about 6 months ago due to health concerns with a family member. I loved my job! I was looking to come back and even applied for my old position but I received an email saying they had more applicants then they needed so they weren’t moving forward with my application. Does this mean they only look at the first amount of applicants they need? Can anyone give me advice on how to get my application viewed? I have 4 years experience in that same position as a supervisor so I’m hoping I’m qualified!

Thanks all!

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Former employee wanting to rejoin

pennacook
Adventurer C

I would suggest for you to join a Career Connections as they do provide conversations around resume crafting, etc.

https://careers.southwestair.com/event/614b95dcd601800006254ddd/Career-Connections

From a previous session that I attended, the question did come up regarding number of applicants. Their response was if they find a good candidate then they would close out a search. They suggest applying as soon as you see a job open. They do have SMS alerts that you can subscribe to as well.

Sgambrel
Explorer C

Thank you! I’m registered for the career connections but the sessions usually fall during mid day when I’m working my other job. I applied as soon as the job posted since I have friends still there who let me

know about it. Some people who did get interviews have never done the job so I’m curious if they give preference to internal candidates before external no matter the experience? Just trying to get my app looked at!

adrienneb
Employee
Employee

Hi there, @Sgambrel!