Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Re: Difference in fare

msmarie8811
Explorer C

Hello,  This is my first time.  How will I know when there has been a fare change?  Do you all let us know of any price drops?

franktravel
Aviator B

You have to keep checking yourself. 

Good Luck

ghazzalehr
Explorer C

Can you use travel credits (earned by timely cancelling previously reserved/booked flights) towards any portion of a Southwest Vacation package? I have approx $250.00 credit i want to apply toward purchase of a flight + hotel package totalling apprx. $1,300.00. 

chgoflyer
Aviator A

Unfortunately, no. Southwest Vacations is actually a completely separate company than Southwest Airlines. Southwest Vacations is really Mark Travel doing business under that name, one of many they use. Their customer service ratings aren't great, and once common complaint is that if anything goes wrong, Southwest Airlines won't help -- they'll just direct you to Southwest Vacations.

From the Southwest Airlines website:

Unused Ticketless Travel Funds: Southwest Airlines accepts unused ticketless travel funds for Passenger travel purchased through Southwest Airlines, excluding the Southwest Airlines Group Desk and Southwest Airlines® Vacations. Unused ticketless travel funds may be redeemed at Southwest.com, through Southwest Airlines Reservations, and at Southwest Airlines Ticket Counter locations. All travel involving unused ticketless travel funds must be completed by the expiration date. Unused ticketless travel funds may only be applied toward the purchase of future travel for the individual named on the ticket.

SummerTravel
Explorer C

Hi Lindsey,

You said" If you purchase tickets and the fare goes down, you can certainly rebook and keep the difference to use toward a future reservation. The credits do need to be used by the person to whom they orginally belonged. "

This only applies to a wanna-get-away fare, correct?