Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Safe (UNSAFE) flying during COVID pandemic

suesand
Explorer B

I just flew Denver to Boston, finally feeling a bit safe doing so due to the  universal masking requirement in place and hearing that airlines are addressing passengers who refuse to comply by making them in eligible to fly in the future.  I should state that I am a nurse who has worked in a hospital daily during the peak of COVID.  I wear a mask daily for 12 hours and know the false legends regarding masks causing CO2 build up, etc, are untrue.  I am healthy without brain damage!  I know how dangerous this novel virus is, as we treat previously unbelieving patients everyday and I know how important masking is to stopping the spread.  I can't believe I am writing this post flight, but I feel immensely more safe amongst COVID positive patients in a hospital than I did flying SWA airlines.  Hospitals are the best at controlling the spread of communicable diseases and SW has much to learn!  The masking rule was NOT enforced.  Everyone had a mask "on", but several passengers wore their masks below their noses,  I mentioned this to 2 flight attendants who said they could not confront passengers as there may be medical reason for their refusal to fully comply.  What?  The blatant disregard of what is scientifically proven as necessary to keep the remainder of passengers on a near 5 hour flight safe, and promoted as in place by SW Airlines, is not to be addressed? Be aware.  SW does not appear to be truly concerned about safety!  I will also note that on my initial flight from Boston to Denver, the tray table had crumbs  on it.  Guess the sanitation that is advertised to be in place between flights is also an urban legend.  SW is words without substance when promoting themselves as being safe to fly with.

17 REPLIES 17

Re: Safe (UNSAFE) flying during COVID pandemic

chgoflyer
Aviator A

@suesand wrote: