Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Young traveler and possibly delays

brittanytheriot
Explorer C

Hi all,

I'm new to this young traveler stuff. I'm sending my 13 year old daughter to Philadelphia this summer to meet up with her grandparents. I'd hoped for a nonstop flight, but no such luck. I did find one that has a 35 minute layover in Nashville with NO plane change.

I understand that she won't be monitored while she is on the plane. However, what is there is a problem and she has to switch planes/gates?? Are they just going to tell her to get off the plane and good luck? She is fairly responsible, but that's a lot to ask of a 13 year old. What will happen in that case?

Thanks for any advice anyone has to offer.

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Young traveler and possibly delays

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

As you said, there's no monitoring of young travelers on the plane, and that applies while waiting at the airport too. You should ensure the child knows they can ask any Southwest employee for assistance, that should be enough to get any problem sorted out. If Southwest is responsible for a delay or cancelation then they should resolve the issue. I would suggest the child carry a printed itinerary that contains confirmation numbers in case there are questions. Some cash for food at the airport would also be a good idea.

With a short amount of time between flights I would also reiterate there's not much time to waste and they should move as quickly as possible from the arriving flight to the next gate. A Southwest employee can assist with gate information and there should be monitors around the terminal with the info too.

--TheMiddleSeat

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A