Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

cans of tuna

GETTINGLESSFAT
Explorer C

Dut to my recent grastic surgery , I am limited on the size of my meal. When are going to WDW and Universal . I want to know if I can bring cans if tuna or chicken with me ? Does it have to be checked or can it be on my carry on?

5 REPLIES 5

Re: cans of tuna

TheMiddleSeat
Aviator A

You can bring all the tuna you'd like in your checked baggage, just keep in mind the 50lb weight limit for each bag. Carry-on bags are subject to TSA's liquid rules so no containers over 3.4oz (liquid volume, not weight) if they have liquid in them. They would also need to fit inside a quart size bag with any other toiletries you carry on. I'm no tuna expert, but I think they sell pouches of tuna without the liquid now? If there's no liquid, these could go in either your checked or carry-on baggage and would not be subject to the liquid rules.

Please, please, please, just don't open any container of tuna on the plane. Tuna is prohibited in the bad odor rules along with chili, clam chowder, and any fast food breakfast sandwich. 

Enjoy your trip!

--TheMiddleSeat

Did this or any other comment in the thread answer your question? Please take a moment and click the "Accept as Solution" button on the comments you found most helpful, this will be a big help to any future Community Members who have a similar question!

rtbarron
Frequent Flyer A

Here's what the TSA website says:

Canned Foods

Carry On Bags: 
Yes (Special Instructions)
Checked Bags: 
Yes

There are some items that are not on the prohibited items list, but because of how they appear on the X-ray, security concerns, or impact of the 3-1-1 rules for liquids, gels and aerosols, they could require additional screening that might result in the item not being allowed through the checkpoint. We suggest that you pack this item in your checked bag, ship it to your destination or leave it at home.