Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Service cancelled what happens to drink coupon

abbeynormal
Explorer B

I've been flying SWA for almost 47 years, and I've seen lots of changes - most of them good.  Often get "canceled" service on short flights (more than 176 miles) due to weather.   So what happens to my business select drink coupon?  The reason I saw "canceled due to weather" is in multiple instances, there wasn't any weather, and it appears that the service was "canceled" either because the captain or crew didn't want to perform in-flight service.  The other item I noticed about this is that it appears to happen when the crew is not Texas (Dallas or Houston) based.  Why can't I use my coupon on another flight since it was "canceled" at the discretion of SWA? In theory, they could cancel every in-flight service and never serve.  There has to be a solution 

2 REPLIES 2

Re: Service cancelled what happens to drink coupon

SoCalFlyer97
Frequent Flyer A

Hola-

I'm a frequent traveler aboard short-haul flights including the SAN-LAS route and usually there's a significant chance that a possible bumpy ride will end up scrapping the in-flight snack/drink amenities. The keyword is possible. If questionable weather or possible air turbulence is reported to the Flight Captain, they will then make the call on whether the Flight Attendants can serve or to remain seated. This is similar to the fasten seatbelt light being left on during cruising.