Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

suggestion on boarding faster

ssgonzo68
Explorer C

I know many if not all airlines are trying to figure out how to board people quickly.  I know another airline that just made a small improvement based on a study.  My background is in software engineering and trying to make things efficient.  So here's my suggestion. First of all, I am not including people who are exceptions to general rules like people in wheel chairs, people who need assistance, family with kids etc.  In general, I believe people should be loaded from the back to the front of the plan.  Allow a certain number of people to board early if they are willing to set in the back of the plane.  For example, if there are 50 seats behind the wing of the plan, maybe allow 35 people to board earlier and enforce that they sit behind the wing.  People WILL try to take advantage of the system.  My second idea is probably not feasible but I at least I will state my observation.  Many people stand in the middle of the aisle while they either get luggage put in the overhead compartment or somehow get situated in their seat.  Here's the hard part. I think a nice, extra suggestion or help can come from a flight attendant so that the passenger is aware that they are holding up the line.

2 REPLIES 2

Re: suggestion on boarding faster

SoCalFlyer97
Frequent Flyer A

@ssgonzo68 wrote: