Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Most humiliating Southwest experience ever with my handicap sister!

erobin524
Explorer C

This is my first time ever making a post such as this. I have always had positive flight experiences for the most part. However, last night was the most humiliating experience ever on a Southwest Airlines flight. My sister (who is blind with a visible cane and carrying her backpack of medical supplies for her other health issues) were flying back from a great trip in Orlando with my two nieces (children) flight 5678 at 9:30 pm. We waited in the line for handicap passengers just as we did leaving Baltimore with no problem. I was holding my sister's boarding passes while she had the cane in one hand and her carry bag tubing the was attached to her stomach and the girls were holding their carry on bags. The operations agent (a Hispanic gentlemen didn't get his name) rudely told me I can't board with her, one of the kids need to do it. I asked him if I can please board with her to carry her things and get her situated before the other passengers just as we did coming in to Baltimore and on every other flight we have flown together. He loudly said no and "you get treated like everybody else." After he had already created a scene, I told my niece to hold the boarding passes and help her mom carry every thing she needed to the plane and we will see her when we got on. We were B49 and B50, which there were only about 15 people that boarded after us. It was a full flight. My sister was able to hold me a seat luckily and there was still a seat between us. We were seated for about 10 minutes when the same operations agent gets on the plane. There were three empty seats. One was in front of me. He asked the lady if the seat next to her was a "free seat." She replied yes. He then looks at me and asks if it was a "free seat." I replied yes and removed the neck pillow in case someone needed to sit there. Now, instead of moving on to the nex