Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Thanks to Gate Agent at Chicago Midway,

Explorer C

7-2-23

I have been flying Southwest Airlines for over 40 years.

My wife and I want to acknowledge our appreciation to the gate agents in Midway (Chicago) for our return flight from Seattle/Tacoma to Houston Hobby on Saturday night, June 24.   Our flight from Seattle/Tacoma was delayed about an hour leaving Seattle, which at the time we knew would potentially make us late for the Chicago to Houston connection.  Our conversations with the gate agent in Seattle gave us some positive thoughts, since our connecting flight leaving Chicago was running about 30 minutes late based on estimates at that time earlier that day.

When we arrived near end of the B terminal at Midway, the information board told us the flight was boarding, which was a concern. My wife and I are 80 & 79 respectively, but active, so we walked with a purpose the long stretch between terminals.    Upon arrival, we found the door closed and no more passengers were allowed to board.  

The gate agent managing A8 that evening for our flight 2113 from Chicago to Houston was extremely courteous for our dilemma as we arrived at A8 after rushing over from near the end of B terminal.   He explained there was nothing he could do with the airline rules that do not allow the door to be opened once closed.    This was also the last flight to Houston on Saturday, so we were stuck in Chicago.

We immediately asked about hotel reservations and found out no rooms were available in the area, because of other airline problems that day and other normal reservations had filled all the rooms.   We were going to have to sleep on the floor at Midway.    Another 5 people including a family of 4 with young children showed up from the Seattle flight, who were also stranded.