Skip to main content

Southwest Airlines Community

Credit Card False Advertising

Ginnis
Explorer C

I am new to SW and I booked a flight.  My chase credit card was pre-approved and all I had to do was click through.  Get a 200 credit.  To get the credit you need to make a purchase.  To make the purchase, I need to have the card.  I waited a day.  No card.  But there was a hit on my credit report so I know they were investigating me.  So that is just false advertising.  I cannot get the 200 credit without the card - period.   Apparently I was not pre-approved.

And, to add insult to injury, Chase Credit Card people want me to send a whole bunch of documentation -- even though they clearly know who I am or they would not have been able to see my credit report - and cause a decrease for the hit.  Not to mention, I must have 5 or 6 chase accounts - none of them are like this.  So I don't want the card.  It's too bad my credit took a hit.  But SW should stop offering this discount, this so-called pre-approved card and so on.   

I do hope I can get a decent seat - about that I am concerned.  What I've been reading is that a lot of people claim disabilities and get preboarded - and then the 150 people who got business tickets board.  Just seems like a lot of issues. 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Credit Card False Advertising

dfwskier
Aviator A

1) Southwest does not offer credit card deals. Chase does. If there's a beef you need to take it up with the bank. Chase is in a marketing partnership with SW. So SW lets Chase advertise on the SW website.

2) SW dosn't sell 150 business tickets. The most it sells on any one flight is 15 -- and mpst tims it does not sell that many.

floridaguy
Aviator C

Whether Chase is a business partner, an alien from another galaxy, a member of the 5th dimension is completely irrelevant.

You were on Southwest's web page and they allowed to content to be presented.